The Mad Scientists of Today

Science and Physics are not attracting as many schoolchildren as they used to, and it makes me wonder why. Perhaps these two subjects have little attraction for youngsters these days, it’s too hard, or maybe, its just all the crazy stuff they read in newspapers from ‘scientists’. I put that in inverted comma’s specifically, because some of the trash they are coming out with these days is unbelievable.

Good Luck Friend!

Just as an example, scientists at Oxford University have ‘proven’ that tall people are more likely to get cancer than short people, while ‘experts’ in the USA have ‘proven’ that tall men are far more likely to get testicular cancer than short men! The one that sends me into fits of laughter however is that which states, ‘second-hand smoke doubles the hearing loss among teenagers’!!! Where do they get this tripe!!!!

Disco Speakers - Designed To Blow Your Head Off!

I suppose the fact that teenagers deafen all around them with their music set to 140db, and the disco’s and pop groups must have the volume from car-sized speakers at maximun, often louder than a Jumbo jet, is insignificant by comparison????? When out walking, how often do you hear a distant boom boom boom that steadily gets louder and louder as a teen drives past in his car with the windows down and the car stereo at maximum volume? Its a good job the windows are rolled down, for if they were not they would probably shatter from the onslaught. How many times can you hear the music from an iPod listener several feet away as they listen to music on a headset? But of course, this has nothing to do with teen hearing loss in the minds of these idiot scientists.

Military Jet Engine Test

I know what I am talking about, for I spent 37 years working on aircraft in the RAF and NATO, and suffered signifcant hearing loss myself. Naturally it was my own fault, and I blame no-one but myself.

I for one have often claimed the only reason they come up with this stupid research, is to make a name for themselves in scientific circles, get a paper published, or impress financial backers to get grants for more stupidity! 

Yea! I Got This Virus Ain't I!

You will not believe this, but a couple of years ago, one very serious scientists made the claim that his research had led him to the conclusion that obesity was simply due to a virus!!!!! Nothing at all to do with filling the hole in your face with massive amounts of all the wrong food, and being a ‘couch potato”!

City Air Pollution

They used to portray ‘the mad scientist’ in the old Bram Stoker movies, but today they have become a reality. I am sorry guys, I know you are serious people in a very competative world, but for crying out loud, give us a break from your wild ideas and get down to some serious problem solving like the world energy crisis and pollution. I for one would be more inclined to believe your results!

Roy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.